EWC Codes

The List below is revised at regular intervals in accordance with Article 18 of Directive 75/442/EEC.

EWC Codes

01 Waste resulting from exploration, mining, quarrying, and physical and chemical treatment of minerals.

02 Waste from agriculture, horticulture, aquaculture, forestry, hunting and fishing, preparation, and processing of food.

03 Waste from wood processing and the production of panels and furniture, as well as pulp, paper, and cardboard.

04 Waste from the leather, fur, and textile industries.

05 Waste from petroleum refining, natural gas purification, and pyrolytic treatment of coal.

06 Waste from inorganic chemical processes.

07 Waste from organic chemical processes.

08 Waste from the production, formulation, supply, and use (PFSU) of coatings (paints, varnishes, and vitreous enamels), adhesives, sealants, and printing inks.

09 Waste from the photographic industry.

10 Waste from thermal processes.

11 Waste from chemical surface treatment and coating of metals and other materials; non-ferrous hydrometallurgy.

12 Waste from shaping and physical and chemical surface treatment of metals and plastics.

13 Oil wastes and wastes of liquid fuels (except edible oils, 05, and 12).

14 Waste from organic solvents, refrigerants, and propellants (except 07 and 08).

15 Waste packaging; absorbents, wiping cloths, filter materials, and protective clothing not otherwise specified.

16 Wastes not otherwise specified in the catalogue.

17 Construction and demolition wastes (including excavated soil from contaminated sites).

18 Waste from human or animal healthcare and/or related research (excluding kitchen and restaurant waste not originating from healthcare facilities).

19 Wastes from waste management facilities, off-site wastewater treatment plants, and the preparation of water intended for human consumption and water for industrial use.

20 Municipal wastes (household waste and similar commercial, industrial, and institutional wastes) including separately collected fractions.

EWC Codes

The above list is the Harmonized Waste Catalogue, which is periodically revised by the EC Committee based on new knowledge, particularly research results, in accordance with the procedure of Article 18 of Directive 75/442/EEC, as amended by Directive 91/156/EEC. The various waste categories in the catalogue are fully identified by a six-digit code for the waste and the corresponding two-digit and four-digit codes for the chapter titles.