Categories | Levels of Confidential Destruction

When a page is cut in two it does not mean that the data contained is no longer usable. For example the paper strips produced by a common portable document shredder can be restored to their original form with the use of special software. It is very common for our business to receive such strips in order to raise the level of destruction.

There are different categories / levels of confidential destruction depending on the standard you use. The German Institute for Standardization “DIN” (= Deutsches Institut Für Normung) is a non-profit institution founded in 1917. Standard 66399 is the updated standardization system for the destruction of data storage media, in effect since September 2012, and replaced standard “DIN 32757” and “DIN EN 15713”. This new standard now describes 3 categories / classes of protection, 6 different types of data storage media and 7 levels of security..

Three (3) Categories / Classes of Protection


Basic security requirement for internal data intended for a large group of people. Unauthorized disclosure will have limited negative consequences for the company. Protection of personal data should be guaranteed differently, otherwise there would be a risk to the position and financial condition of the affected. Data examples: Mail with personalized ads, directories, circulars, notes.


Higher requirements for the protection of confidential information, which is limited to a small group of people. Unauthorized disclosure will have a significant impact on the company and could violate its contractual obligations or laws. The protection of personal data must comply with high requirements. Examples: Destruction of sensitive corporate data and / or personal documents that require greater security than the first level.


Very high requirement for protection with particularly sensitive and confidential information limited to a small group of authorized people. Unauthorized disclosure would have serious, dangerous consequences for the company and would violate professional secrecy, contracts and laws. Absolute protection of personal information must be guaranteed. Examples: Destruction of confidential and secret documents that are critical to the existence of the company.

Six (6) Types of Storage Media

P = Paper Based Products

F = Film Based Materials such as Microfilm, Slides etc.

O = Optical Media such as CDs, DVDs, Blu-ray Discs etc.

T = Magnetic Data Media such as Disks, Cassettes, Tapes etc.

H = Hard Drives

E = Electronic Data Media such as USB Drives & Memory Cards etc.

Seven (7) Levels of Security


For paper based materials click here for the detailed guide.

Levels of Confidential Destruction


Levels of Confidential Destruction
Category of Protection Security Level for Optical Storages Maximum Size
1 Ο-1 2000mm2
1 Ο-2 800mm2
1 Ο-3 160mm2
2 Ο-4 30mm2
2 Ο-5 10mm2
3 Ο-6 0.5mm2
3 Ο-7 0.2mm2
Category of Protection Security Level for Hard Disks Maximum Size
1 Η-1 Non Functional
1 Η-2 Destroyed
1 Η-3 Deformed
2 Η-4 2000mm2
2 Η-5 320mm2
3 Η-6 160mm2
3 Η-7 10mm2
Category of Protection Security Level for Films Maximum Size
1 F-1 160mm2
1 F-2 30mm2
1 F-3 10mm2
2 F-4 2.5mm2
2 F-5 1mm2
3 F-6 0.5mm2
3 F-7 0.2mm2
Category of Protection Security Level for Electronics Maximum Size
1 E-1 Non Functional
1 E-2 Cut
1 E-3 160mm2
2 E-4 30mm2
2 E-5 10mm2
3 E-6 1mm2
3 E-7 0.5mm2
Category of Protection Security Level for Magnetic Storages Maximum Size
1 Τ-1 Non Functional
1 Τ-2 Cut
1 Τ-3 2000mm2
2 Τ-4 320mm2
2 Τ-5 160mm2
3 Τ-6 10mm2
3 Τ-7 2.5mm2

For more detailed information please visit DIN

Levels of Confidential Destruction